News

Quake 3 Free To Keep Right Now

Yep, you read that right! Quake 3 is free to keep right now on the Bethesda Launcher. In order to claim this, you’ll need to log in before the promotional period is over.

Quake 3 Arena is, by all accounts, a classic. The 1999 FPS was the third game in the series and, unlike its predecessors, focused entirely on the multiplayer experience. What makes it special, though? Well, a lot.

Quake 3 Arena had unprecedented levels of customizability when you look at the settings. You could alter the Field of View, Player Texture Models, and more. It also included “advanced movement features” for the time. These include the ever-infamous rocket jump. 

On top of all this, it marked an important step in the graphical advancement of multiplayer titles. Quake 3 Arena was the first game in the series to feature curved surfaces, with many praising its crisp look. Adding to this, it was praised for its addictive and balanced gameplay. This led to the development of a significant competitive scene around the title, too. As late as 2006, they were switching between the mods used to hold the competitive gameplay! Basically, Quake 3 Arena was a pretty great game for 1999. Thankfully, it doesn’t have to be the early 2000s again for you to give it a go! 

Quake 3 Free
Credit: MobyGames

You can claim Quake 3 Arena for free right now on the Bethesda Launcher.  

Quake 3 Free To Keep Until Thursday!

Below, you’ll be able to find the cut-off point for the free-to-keep Quake 3 drop.

PT – 9am (August 20)
ET – 12pm (August 20)
GMT – 5pm (August 20)
AEST – 2am (August 21)

Like what you see? Don’t forget to share our work with the buttons below! Also, be sure to follow @GamezoGG on Twitter and check out our YouTube Channel for more great content from the Gamezo Team!